These are just some of the comments that have been received from previous guests or have been left in the Guest Book at Kinnoull and the Guest Book at Greenbank over many years.  

Thank you to everyone for taking the time to do this, we really appreciate it.

We have also just started collecting reviews on Trip Advisor through our advertising on Holiday Lettings for Kinnoull and Greenbank.


Name: Jill O'Sullivan - with friends and dogs, Glasgow

Date: September 2016 (Kinnoull)

Just back home after spending a wonderful week with friends (and dogs) at Kinnoull.  What a comfortable, cosy house this is!  Beautifully situated with a picture postcard view of the harbour.  It has been kitted out with everything that you could possibly need, including DVDs, books and games for a rainy day. Or you could simply sit in the conservatory and be mesmerised by the view - binoculars and a telescope thoughtfully provided. There's off street parking and the garden is enclosed, so it's child and dog friendly. Lots of things to do on Harris, glorious beach walking, galleries to browse, cafes to sample, distillery to visit... but it was lovely to come home to Kinnoull after a day out, it felt like home.
[ps I think the photos of the inside of Kinnoull do not do it justice - it is so cosy and comfy].

 

Name: Bates Family & Hulbert Family, Bladnoch & Snitterby

Date: September 2016 (Kinnoull)

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kinnoull - home from home. Harris is a delight and the beaches are superb, we will be back.

 

Name: D, A, T & E, Rutherglen

Date: September 2016 (Greenbank)

Excellent cottage - well equipped with everything needed to keep two young children entertained.  Good location for seeing the sights of Harris and Lewis.

 

Name: Morton/ Hall Family, North Shields

Date: August 2016 (Kinnoull)

A lovely place to stay and Harris is a place to fall in love with - the Harris Gin is a must!! The view from this house is worth the entrance fee alone. Thank you.

 

Name: Carter, Ipswich, Suffolk

Date: August 2016 (Greenbank)

Lovely relaxing week away.  Great cottage with spectacular views.  We liked the peace, the beauty, the beaches, the wildlife, the people - the whole experience.
 

Name: K&D Burton, Wray, Lancashire

Date: July 2016 (Greenbank)

It was a pleasure to return to Greenbank at the end of the day - always very cosy and felt like home.
 

Name: D, L, A, A and W, Tullibody

Date: July 2016 (Kinnoull)

A beautiful place.  We have loved our time here and will be back.  We travelled around and saw so many breathtaking sights.  Also taking home our long awaited Harris Gin - thank you.
 

Name: John & Chrissie Shiels, Johnstone

Date: May/ June 2016 (Kinnoull)

We'd a lovely holiday and the accommodation here couldn't have been better anywhere.  We really enjoyed everything and the view from Kinnoull is wonderful.  Murphy the dog enjoyed the sands and beaches and loved the safe garden here too.

 

Name: Isabel & Fiona Cunningham, Paisley

Date: May/ June 2016 (Kinnoull)

Our parents/ grandparents were here for 2 weeks and we joined them for 3 nights.  Beautiful, comfortable house with everything in it you could possibly need.  Loved the open fire - lovely conservatory and spectacular views across the water from it.  Enjoyed trips to Luskentyre and Hushinish beaches - having picnics, walking along the sand, paddling in the sea and playing with our wee dog who had a great time running about. Hope to return for longer visit soon.
 

Name: Maggie & Alan, Cumbria

Date: April 2016 (Kinnoull)

Spacious easy to live in house with stunning views over the harbour.  Arrived on the late ferry and having unpacked and eaten supper (washed down with a glass or two of wine) - sank gratefully into comfy beds.  Mostly sunshine this week, which has gone too fast - guess we'll just have to come back.
 

Name: J&M Milne, Annan, Dumfries & Galloway

Date: June 2016 (Greenbank)

We have had a wonderful week in the best cottage that we have ever stayed in.  Everything is there - from chairs for sunny days to games and books for wet ones!
 

Name: John & Chrissie Shiels, Johnstone

Date: June 2016 (Kinnoull)

We'd a lovely holiday and the accommodation here couldn't have been better anywhere.  We really enjoyed everything and the view from Kinnoull is wonderful.  Murphy the dog enjoyed the sands and beaches and loved the safe garden here too.

 

Name: Isabel & Fiona Cunningham, Paisley

Date: May/ June 2016 (Kinnoull)

Our parents/ grandparents were here for 2 weeks and we joined them for 3 nights.  Beautiful, comfortable house with everything in it you could possibly need.  Loved the open fire - lovely conservatory and spectacular views across the water from it.  Enjoyed trips to Luskentyre and Hushinish beaches - having picnics, walking along the sand, paddling in the sea and playing with our wee dog who had a great time running about. Hope to return for longer visit soon.
 

Name: C&F Robinson, Morpeth, Northumberland

Date: May 2016 (Greenbank)

We are sitting outside having our breakfast and don't want to leave. Greenbank is a lovely cottage in the most stunning location and so comfortable.  The scenery is awesome and we have enjoyed lots of fantastic walks - thanks for useful information.

 

Name: C Hollingworth, Bath, Somerset

Date: May 2016 (Greenbank)

Cottage very well equipped and kitchen area excellent.  Appreciated extra TV for radio.  Lovely open fire and a lot of space.  Bed excellent.  Weather variable.

 

Name: Annie & Simon, Elsdon, Northumberland

Date: May 2016 (Greenbank)

Thank you so much for the warmth of the base and for the multitude of small touches that made it feel like home.  We have never stayed in a holiday let before where kites and midge repellent came as standard.

 

Name: Maggie & Alan, Cumbria

Date: April 2016 (Kinnoull)

Spacious easy to live in house with stunning views over the harbour.  Arrived on the late ferry and having unpacked and eaten supper (washed down with a glass or two of wine) - sank gratefully into comfy beds.  Mostly sunshine this week, which has gone too fast - guess we'll just have to come back.
 

Name: V&G Johnston, Edinburgh

Date: April 2016 (Greenbank)

Fantastic time in Harris. Highlights have been spotting eagles and deer and exploring the magical beaches of the island.  Loved the open fire and setting of the cottage - very homely.
 

Name: Ross & Loris, Shetland

Date: March 2016 (Kinnoull)

Stunning weather - wish our visit could have been longer.
 

Name: K&L, Australia

Date: October 2015 (Greenbank)

Thank you so much for Greenbank, the cottage wrapped it's arms around us as soon as we arrived.  Liz your housekeeper presented the cottage with a sparkle and perfection.  We now wish we hadn't taken the mainland cottage for the several months that is our normal holiday length from Australia.

 

Name: Allan Family, Linlithgow

Date: September 2015 (Kinnoull)

We were here for the opening of the Isle of Harris Distillery and the first bottling of the Isle of Harris Gin - great!
 

Name: C&A Heath, Uttoxeter

Date: July 2015 (Greenbank)

Great selection of books, games,  beautiful artwork and great views - we would be happy to recommend Greenbank to anyone.
 

Name: Donaldsons, Inverness

Date: August 2015 (Kinnoull)

Fantastic views, great accommodation - we will be back!
 

Name: Hillcoat Party, Germany

Date: July 2015 (Greenbank)

First visit to the Isle of Harris - and when we come back it will be to Greenbank.
 

Name: McCall Family, Edinburgh & Drymen

Date: July 2015 (Greenbank)

Well stocked log supply and enclosed dog-friendly garden.  Cottage had everything you could possibly need and more.

 

Name: IF, Featherstone, Staffs

Date: July 2015 (Kinnoull)

Everything about the house, the town and the Island has been wonderful.
 

Name: Maclennan Family, Paisley & London

Date: June 2015 (Kinnoull)

Lovely week in a great house.  Looking forward to our next visit already.
 

Name: Goodwin Family, Cambridgeshire

Date: April 2015 (Kinnoull)

I think in all honesty, this is the best, most cosy, comfortable, well-equipped, clean, friendly, relaxing house we have ever stayed in on holiday.  The cottage is just perfect.
 

Name: L,L&F Cumming, Edinburgh

Date: October 2014 (Greenbank)

Cottage comfortable and cosy with powerful shower.  When at the kitchen sink, I looked out to my dream view.
 

Name: Barham Family & Jenkins Family

Date: August 2014 (Kinnoull)

Stayed in a wonderful house.  Saw dolphins, eagles and grouse. Swan in the sea.  Had haggis for tea.

 

Name: L&J Manuel, Spain

Date: August 2014 (Kinnoull)

You've got a great comfortable and cosy house with superb views.
 

Name: Brian Keith

Date: August 2014 (Greenbank)

We had a great time in Greenbank in early July 2014.  The cottage was wonderful and very much appreciated - not least the open fire and the fuel that was provided for it.  We definitely intend to return - please keep the cottage available for renting!
 

Name: P&J Crosbie, Kirkcaldy

Date: July 2014 (Greenbank)

Cottage perfect and in excellent location - I would recommend to anyone.

 

Name: C&M Binns, North Yorkshire

Date: June 2014 (Greenbank)

We found Greenbank an excellent base for exploring the island and a comfortable cottage to return to after our days out.

 

Name: S&R Corney, Halifax

Date: June 2014 (Greenbank)

What a fantastic cottage!  Everything is so well thought out and well equipped.  Thanks very much.
 

Name: G&H Colhoun, London

Date: June 2014 (Greenbank)

Very good self-catering and terrific open fire.

 

Name: Carter Family

Date: August 2013 (Kinnoull)

Dear Irene - thank you so much for getting everything ready for us.  We have had a wonderful week's holiday and really enjoyed it here.  Harris is so beautiful!

 

Name: AM, Warrington

Date: July 2013 (Kinnoull)

Could not wish for better.  Fabulous weather, fabulous house.  Definitely 5* rating.

 

Name: B & M, Cape Town, South Africa

Date: July 2013 (Kinnoull)

First time on the Isle of Harris and absolutely loved Tarbert and our stay at Kinnoull.  Would love to return one day...

 

Name: Mr & Mrs R, Durham

Date: July 2013 (Kinnoull)

Went to Horgabost Beach - absolutely glorious, no photos that you will have ever seen will do it justice. Blue/green clear water, white sands and stunning mountains not far away.

 

Name: S, J, F & B, Halifax

Date: June 2013 (Greenbank)

Thanks for everything at the cottage - you have really gone the extra mile to make it a home from home. The attention to detail is exceptional, there was absolutely nothing we could want for and lots of things we would never have expected.  It is without doubt the best rental we have ever stayed in... anywhere! You should have 5* not 3*!

 

Name: C Walton, Kingsbury

Date: June 2013 (Greenbank)

Enjoyed our stay, well equipped, bed comfortable, loved open fire and fireplace.  Keep up the good work.

 

Name: S & M, Norfolk

Date: June 2013 (Greenbank)

Recommend St Kilda Trip with Kilda Cruises.  Lovely day and St Kilda was magical, once in a lifetime experience.  Wonderful and dramatic sea cliffs and sea stars, vast seaboard colonies. Fascinating history.

 

Name: B Godkin, Suffolk

Date: April 2013 (Greenbank)

My grand-father owned this house and spent his whole life here.  Now it is being used to create more memories and happiness for others, I will be telling everyone to come and stay here.  We will be back.

 

Name: G & P, Oxford

Date: March 2013 (Greenbank)

A memorable first visit to the Hebrides - made all the more enjoyable by the excellence of Greenbank as a comfortable base, thank you.

 

Name: C, J, R & K, Glasgow

Date: September 2012 (Greenbank)

The kids really enjoyed their stay here so much that one of them announced that they wanted to live here - in Harris and in this cottage.

 

Name: Ken, Pearl, Barrie, Debra, Holly & Kim

Date: September 2012 (Kinnoull)

Just back from a wonderful week on Harris. Kinnoull is the best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in, it has everything you need and more. Conservatory cosy even in gale force winds. Scenery & beaches - WOW! Loved our stay, hope to come back again some day, still so much to see and do. Thanks very much for making our holiday so comfortable.

 

Name: M, P, N and G, Perth

Date: August 2012 (Greenbank)

Harris - wow! Climbed An Clisham, saw golden eagles and great views of islands and St Kilda.  Played tennis, fished and swam in the sea - Hushinish and Luskentyre beaches are amazing!

 

Name: J, N, W, H and M, Cumbria

Date: August 2012 (Kinnoull)

Lovely views from the decking.  Children loved watching the ferry and exploring the garden.

 

Name: J, J & R, Sutherland

Date: July 2012 (Greenbank)

What a fabby cottage - you have put a lot of thought in to your cottage to welcome visitors.  Saw 4 eagles, lots of seals and herons.  Thank you so much for sharing this lovely corner of Harris.

 

Name: J, B, M & M, Winchester & Berlin

Date: July 2012 (Greenbank)

Greenbank is a special place to stay - the cottage is really well equipped and cosy and in a splendid location. We enjoyed our visit to the Western Isles greatly. 

 

Name: C & F, Switzerland

Date: July 2012 (Greenbank)

It was so nice to have a powerful shower and curtains which blocked out the light.  We saw dolphins and seals at Luskentyre.  Many thanks for everything - will certainly recommend you to our friends and family.

 

Name: M & S, Norfolk

Date: June 2012 (Greenbank)

Beautiful island - even in the mist.  Ever corner turned takes your breath away.  Lovely well-equipped cottage - had to have a log fire even though it is June and the bath is amazing!

 

Name: The N Family, Edinburgh

Date: June 2012 (Kinnoull)

Fantastic week in Kinnoull - well equipped and with lovely views.

 

Name: T & S, Edinburgh

Date: June 2012 (Greenbank)

Wow. Couldn't have asked for a better holiday. Greenbank is wonderful and in a perfect location.  We will recommend 'Harris' and 'Greenbank' to all our friends.

 

Name: Mr & Mrs A, Carnoustie

Date: May 2012 (Kinnoull)

Enjoyed our stay very much - especially in this most comfortable house.

 

Name: V, K & P, North Wales

Date: May 2012 (Greenbank)

Time is supposed to move more leisurely in the Hebrides - nonsense, this fortnight has flown!

 

Name: JB, Edinburgh

Date: May 2012 (Kinnoull)

Wonderful setting, fantastic beaches - makes you want to take it back in a bottle.

 

Name: S, M & J, London

Date: May 2012 (Greenbank)

There isn't enough space to describe it, or words to express it.  We have been blessed with glorious weather and we have tried to see every sight and savour every experience - however it would take another 20 years! Greenbank Cottage is clean, cosy, fully equipped and makes a wonderfully situated base to explore the island.  We have seen otters in the bay and at Toe Head, seals at Finsbay and Flodabay and eagles over Seilebost and Horgabost.  We'll be back.

 

Name: The L Family & The H Family

Date: April 2012 (Kinnoull)

Once again, real comfort and a welcome. Wonderful conservatory.

 

Name: A, J & C, Edinburgh

Date: April 2012 (Greenbank)

The cottage is absolutely lovely - especially the small touches like DVDs and binoculars.

 

Name: Mr & Mrs F, Dornoch

Date: March 2012 (Greenbank)

Cottage is very cosy with everything well thought out.  'Home from Home' - thank you.

 

Name: Z & E, Aberdeen & Edinburgh

Date: September 2011 (Greenbank)

Fantastic visit - house is brilliant.

 

Name: Janet & Christine

Date: September 2011 (Kinnoull)

Another peaceful 2 weeks at Kinnoull, we had a lovely time despite the midges, they caught us out this year. Be back soon.

 

Name: CJ, D and D, West Yorkshire

Date: September 2011 (Kinnoull)

Whatever the weather, this house is perfect. In the sun you can sit out admiring the view and in the rain you can sit in the lovely conservatory playing the games provided.

 

Name: P, J, J and M, Glasgow

Date: August 2011 (Greenbank)

Have had a brilliant time.  Going back a better person which is one of the things that holidays are all about - thank you Greenbank.

 

Name: Mr & Mrs R, East Sussex

Date: August 2011 (Kinnoull)

This is our first holiday on Harris. Accommodation faultless and ideal for a family holiday.  Scenery, views and days out were very enjoyable.

 

Name: Angela Donaldson

Date: July 2011 (Kinnoull)

We have just returned from a fabulous week in Harris. Kinnoull is a warm welcoming home from home, everything has been thought of. It's comfortable with the best views in Tarbert and perfect for kids. Thank you for giving us a beautiful base to explore my most favourite place in the world. p.s We had wonderful weather, even got a tan, now that's magic.

 

Name: Ruth Dawkins

Date: April 2011(Kinnoull)

Had an amazing few days at Kinnoull this March - two adults and a two year old boy. The house is so well equipped for visiting with children - loads of books, games, art materials, beach toys etc. Beds very comfy, living room nice and cosy, lovely to sit out in the conservatory and great views from the outside deck. Couldn't recommend it highly enough for a family visiting Harris.
 

Name: John Donnachie

Date: July 2010 (Kinnoull)

Location, Location, Location, this house takes some beating. WILL be back.

 

Name: Sam Ross

Date: June 2010 (Kinnoull)

We had a great holiday thanks, the house was ideal for us. We even had some good weather. There’s a handful more photos at http://www.flickr.com/photos/samross_1.
 

Name: Val O'Donnell

Date: June 2009 (Kinnoull)

Just back from Harris, we all had an absolutely great time.  The house is fantastic, Irene you are to be complimented on how cosy and homely, yet practical it is. Harris itself is beautiful, beaches that rival any offered by the Carribean. Great meal in the Hebrides Hotel, otherwise we made some really good feasts in the house. Fished a lot, only caught tiddlers though. Weather great up till the last day. Only downside was the monstrous midgie!!! and only having one week!

 

Name: Janet, Christine, Julie and Ozzy

Date: May 2009 (Kinnoull)

29 days to go, we can't wait, the new website is great, can see us all now sat on the decking with a glass of wine, Ozzy my big black standard poodle has not been with us before, he has all his things and I know he will enjoy the lovely beaches just as much as we do.

 

Name: Jacob the Dog

Date: March 2009 (Kinnoull)

Excited to be going back to Kinnoull yet again in 10 days time. It will be lovely to have a mixed bunch of good family, friends and animals plus can't wait to wake up to that wonderful seaview. Happy days!

 

Name: Pippa Gardner

Date: September 2008 (Kinnoull)

Have stayed in Kinnoull several times and I just love it! Can't wait to see the new conservatory - well done! Counting the days until November - Pippa

 

Name: Irene Goodfellow

Date: September 2008 (Kinnoull)

Thank you for all your feedback - it is really helpful for me to be able to know about any shortfalls/ breakages/ difficulties or to pass on your information to future guests.  All comments are much appreciated - thank you.